Schedule Your Free Consultation
DUI Lawyer In Columbia, SC
Imagine driving home from a bar in Columbia and being pulled over. You only had two beers, but suddenly, the police slapped on the handcuffs and charged you with DUI. Your life has taken a potentially disastrous turn.
With the help of our Columbia DUI defense attorneys at the Law Office of Sharpe & Leventis, you can fight the charge and ensure your rights are protected. Find out more about South Carolina DUI charges below, then contact one of our criminal defense attorneys for immediate legal assistance. Our attorneys were born and raised in Columbia and sympathize with our legal situation.
What Are South Carolina’s DUI Laws?
The police in South Carolina take DUI seriously; almost 30% of fatal accidents last year involved alcohol. In South Carolina, .08% blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is the legal limit for motorists who are at least 21 years old. For those under the legal age, the limit is .02%. Also, commercial vehicle drivers have a limit of .05%. State law considers you under the influence if your faculties are impaired to the point that you are a risk to others.
If the police pull you over, they may take steps to check if you are too intoxicated to drive. Law enforcement may give you field sobriety tests and a breathalyzer test. If law enforcement asks you, you must take a breathalyzer test in South Carolina or your license will be automatically suspended. You can ask for a blood test instead, but you must pay for it if you lack auto insurance. Should you refuse the blood test and/or breathalyzer test, the attorneys at Sharpe & Leventis will assist you in navigating the administrative process for obtaining a temporary license so that you can get back on the road as quickly as possible.
What Are DUI Penalties In South Carolina?
You can be convicted of drunk driving in South Carolina if you refuse to take the field sobriety tests, a blood test, or the breathalyzer test, or if your BAC is .08% or higher or you are considered too intoxicated to drive. Potential penalties for a first-time DUI conviction depend on the level of intoxication, but a DUI conviction can carry:
- Up to 90 days in jail
- Fines up to $2000
- Mandatory alcohol and drug treatment program
- Alcohol or drug assessment and treatment
- Community service
- Six months driver’s license suspension
- SR-22 insurance for up to 3 years
Your Columbia DUI defense attorney may help obtain a provisional driver’s license after your treatment requirements are completed. DUI penalties usually rise if your BAC is .16% or higher or if it is your second, third, or fourth and subsequent offense.
Why Hire A Columbia DUI Defense Attorney?
Being arrested for DUI is scary, but an experienced criminal defense attorney at Sharpe & Leventis can make all the difference in your case. We will:
- Safeguard your constitutional rights and ensure you understand the DUI charges
- Investigate, review, and analyze the evidence against you
- Search for flaws in the prosecution’s case
- Fight for a lesser charge when possible
- Negotiate for lighter sentencing, such as community service or probation
- Show mitigating circumstances when possible
- Fight for the best possible case outcome
Depending on the case circumstances, your attorneys may argue one or more of these defenses:
- Police conducted an improper stop
- Field sobriety tests were invalid
- The breathalyzer or blood test equipment was faulty
- Your Miranda rights were violated
Contact Our Columbia DUI Defense Attorneys Today
If you were charged with DUI in Columbia, you could be sent to jail, fined, and face a permanent criminal record. But the Columbia DUI defense attorneys at The Law Office of Sharpe & Leventis are here to help. We understand how serious DUI offenses are and what a conviction means for your future. We will protect your legal rights and work for the best case outcome. Please call for a consultation today or contact us using our online form.